Loading the content... Loading depends on your connection speed!

A TSCRA Member Benefit

Major Disaster Declaration approved for April wildfires in Oklahoma

Oklahoma Gov. Mary Fallin announced on Jan. 25 that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved the state’s request for disaster assistance for five counties impacted by wildfires that occurred April 11-20.

The approval means federal funding is available to assist municipalities, counties and rural electric cooperatives with infrastructure repairs and other eligible costs.

Disaster assistance is approved for Custer, Dewey, Harmon, Roger Mills and Woodward counties.

Pushmataha County, which was also included in Fallin’s request due to severe weather and wind damage that occurred during the same time period, has not been approved for federal assistance.

Damage assessments indicate the fires and severe storms resulted in more than $6.8 million in infrastructure damage and other costs, not including those associated with responding to the fires. Two deaths and multiple injuries were also attributed to the wildfires.

Additional counties may be added to the public assistance declaration request at a later date should conditions warrant.

Source: gov.ok.gov

Jun 26, 2018 General Discussion, Disaster, General Discussion