Loading the content... Loading depends on your connection speed!

Primary Natural Disaster Areas named in Texas

Agricultural producers in Reagan, Sterling, and Terrell counties in Texas, who suffered losses and damages caused by a recent drought, are eligible to apply for Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans. The loans are made available under the authority of the Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue.

Producers in the contiguous counties of Brewster, Coke, Crockett, Glasscock, Howard, Irion, Midland, Mitchell, Pecos, Tom Green, Upton, and Val Verde in Texas are also eligible to apply.

The deadline for producers in designated primary and contiguous counties to apply for emergency loans to help cover part of their actual losses is Feb. 15, 2019.

FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the emergency loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.

Other FSA programs that can provide assistance, but may not require a disaster declaration, include: Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; the Emergency Conservation ProgramLivestock Forage Disaster ProgramLivestock Indemnity ProgramEmergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; and the Tree Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA service centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs.

Additional information is also available online at https://www.farmers.gov.

Source: https://www.fsa.usda.gov/state-offices/Texas/texas-news-releases/2018/stnr_tx_20180709_rel_01

Jul 10, 2018 General Discussion