Loading the content... Loading depends on your connection speed!

A TSCRA Member Benefit

USDA designates Texas counties Primary Natural Disaster Areas 

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated Edwards, Kinney and Val Verde counties in Texas as primary natural disaster areas due to losses and damages caused by a recent drought.

Farmers and ranchers in the contiguous counties of Crockett, Kerr, Kimble, Maverick, Real, Sutton, Terrell, Uvalde and Zavala in Texas also qualify for natural disaster assistance.

Qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for the Farm Service Agency’s (FSA’s) emergency (EM) loans, provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration of April 26, 2018, to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.

Other FSA programs that can provide assistance, but do not require a disaster declaration, include: Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; the Emergency Conservation ProgramLivestock Forage Disaster ProgramLivestock Indemnity ProgramEmergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; and the Tree Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA service centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at http://disaster.fsa.usda.gov.

FSA news releases are available on FSA’s website at www.fsa.usda.gov via the “Newsroom” link.

Source: https://www.fsa.usda.gov/state-offices/Texas/texas-news-releases/2018/stnr_tx_20180501_rel_01

May 03, 2018 General Discussion, Disaster